Here's the Wales U16 squad chosen to contest the 2018 Victory Shield
Next Generation
26 October 2018

Here's the Wales U16 squad chosen to contest the 2018 Victory Shield

The boys tasked with traveling to Ireland to win back the Victory Shield for Wales have been selected. 

Wales U16 team manager Richard Williams has picked a squad of 20 players, to travel to Tralee, in County Kerry, for the five-day festival of football, being held between Monday, November 12, and Friday, November 16. 

The squad, who go to the prestigious home nations tournament with impressive wins in Slovakia and Moldova under their belt, are aiming to win the trophy Wales last lifted in 2015, when Ethan Ampadu was the captain.

1Ethan Amapdu.jpg

This time, the likes of Fulham's Oli Ewing and Cardiff City's Taylor Jones will be bidding to follow in the footsteps of the Chelsea star and others, like Ben Woodburn and Tyler Roberts, who've won the Victory Shield for Wales. 


Ewing, who has captained Wales U16 in the tournament build-up, said: "I'm really looking forward to it. It's a great competition for us, as young players, to be involved in. 

"It's exciting to be away for a week, playing in competitive matches and doing everything we can to win three points for our country. We know if we stick together, we can do that."

Jones added: "Going over to Ireland will be a great experience for us, as a group of lads. To put ourselves up against other top countries like Scotland, Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland will be great.

"To win it would be amazing for the country."

The boys kick-off with a match against Scotland at St Brendan's Park, before facing the hosts, who have won the previous two Victory Shields, at Mounthawk Park and finishing, as they did last year, with a match against Northern Ireland, at the same venue.


Max Williams Wrexham

Luca Smith Bristol City

Keelan Williams Liverpool

Jay Williams Newport County

Matthew Baker Gillingham

Bryce Jones Leeds United

Ethan Vaughan Cardiff City

Harry Jones Arsenal

Oliver Ewing Fulham

James Sweet-Lannin Arsenal

Taylor Jones Cardiff City

Joshua Edwards Swansea City

Jadan Raymond Crystal Palace

Zac Williams Crewe Alexandra

George Walters Manchester United

Liam Higgins Everton

Siyabonga Ligedenza Cardiff City

Levent Gundogan Blackburn Rovers

Ryan Viggars Sheffield Utd

Aaron Hillier Swansea City


All matches kick-off at 1pm

Monday November 12: Wales v Scotland St Brendan's Park, Tralee

Wednesday November 14: Wales v Republic of Ireland  Mounthawk Park, Tralee

Friday November 16: Wales v Northern Ireland Mounthawk Park, Tralee