Our FAW McDonald's National Grassroots Award winners are crowned
20 November 2018

Our FAW McDonald's National Grassroots Award winners are crowned

The 2018 FAW McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards, our annual celebration for the amazing volunteers who make Welsh football great, saw 10 national winners crowned.

The deserved winners were presented their awards by international stars like Danny Gabbidon, David Cotterill, Ian Rush and Helen Ward, who all started their football journeys at the grassroots.

Our 2018 Volunteer of the Year was Colin Jackson, of Penycae FC.

He said: “I feel honoured to accept the award, on behalf of the club, more than anything.

"I'm hoping that I can continue to be involved, even though it's getting tougher as I'm getting older and that the club can continue to grow, as it has done in the last 15 years.”

He was presented his award by Wales legend Ian Rush, who said: “A lot of the work people like Colin do goes unnoticed but they’re the real heroes.

"They don’t get paid for doing what they do and they give up their free time. Without these people there is no football.”

1McDonalds Awards Ceremony.png

Full list of 2018 winners

Volunteer of the Year: Colin Jackson, Penycae FC

Outstanding Achievement: David Nickless, Flintshire Primary Schools FA

Grassroots Project Award: St Florence FC Girls

Junior League of the Year: Llyn & Eifionydd JL

Young Volunteer of the Year: Joseph Proietti, Port Talbot Referees Society  

Community Club of the Year: Fishguard Sports AFC           

Community Coach of the Year: Amlyn Ifans, Bow Street FC

Fun Football Provider of the Year: Sports Xtra

Football Mum of the Year: Amanda Matthews

Football Restaurant of the Year: McDonald's Bridgend