Meet the winners of our McDonalds Community Football Awards 2016
McDonald’s Community Football
10 October 2016

Meet the winners of our McDonalds Community Football Awards 2016

The real heroes of Welsh football

At a glamorous ceremony that preceded Wales' World Cup qualifier against Georgia, the grassroots heroes of Welsh football were honoured.

The McDonald's Community Football Awards 2016 ceremony was held at Cardiff City Stadium on Sunday, October 9, and the great and good of Welsh football were there.

McDonald's ambassador Ryan Giggs presented several awards, as did former Wales stars Ian Rush, Danny Gabbidon and Matthew Jones. Wales women's international Helen Ward also presented an award as did Capital FM presenter Polly James.

Former Wales and Manchester United ace Giggs also took part in a popular Q&A session, in which he said: "The reason why I'm so proud to be part of McDonald's affiliation with grassroots football is because I was spotted by a coach, who was also a milkman!

"He ran the local Sunday league team and he saw me playing for my school on the way home from his round.

"He parked his milk float and came over to watch me play and the rest is history."

Now it's time to meet the winners...

Community Club of the Year - Canton Rangers

After 16 years of serving their community Cantorn Rangers were forced to move from their traditional home at Cantonian High School in 2015, putting their members first ensuring costs were kept low.

Since then the club has grown from strength to strength. They now have 25 teams, 300 players and 60 volunteers on their books.

Community Coach of the Year - Matthew Lamb

Mathew has overseen a huge increase in junior participation at his club in Fishguard.

He set up a junior girls team, which has up 50 players training every week.

Mathew has also established a Disability team which train weekly and compete in tournaments across South West Wales.

Grassroots Impact Award - Game On Wales

‘Game On Wales’ set up the first Over 50’s Walking Football club in RCT and established a South East Walking Football network, which is very competitive.

They've also engaged more than 2,000 youngsters through football ‘Turn Up and Play’ leagues across Wales in partnership with Wrexham FC, Cardiff City FC, Merthyr Town, Swansea City FC and Port Talbot Town FC.

Performance Coach of the Year - Sara Hilton

Sara is currently director of the North Wales Girls Performance Centre.

She graduated with a sports science degree this year and has taken time to develop her coaching skills and has now become a coach on the National U15 Girls Development squad.

School of the Year - Estyn Primary

This innovative school is focused heavily on getting more girls playing the game.

They currently have 25 girls from years 4 – 6 attending after school sessions and the headmaster has been influential in organising leagues for girls in Flintshire and Wrexham.

Young Volunteer of the Year - Lloyd Griffin

Lloyd currently studies Sports Science at Cardiff Met University having previously been an active volunteer on the St Joseph High School 5x60 programme.

Lloyd helps to support Newport Centre Friday Football where a minimum of 30 young people of a variety of age and ability attend every week.

Mum of the Year - Stephanie Sear

Stephanie coaches her son’s Villa Dino’s U10 team as well as helping to set up a separate U7 team.

She started doing admin for the club, raising more than £3,000 for the club before she decided she wanted to do more.

Having embarked on her coaching badges, she is now qualified at C Certificate level.

People's Award - Keiran Howard

Kieran’'s contribution to grassroots football in the North Wales area is unrivalled.

He manages more than 50 children as part of Brymbo U9s and U12s. This is not just limited to match days, it involves taking training and spending all week planning the next training session to keep things moving forward.

He works 12-hour shifts but he still finds time and energy to give back to his community.

He led out the U9s at Wrexham's Racecourse in their first season and his U12s have won their league's Fair Play award three times.

Lifetime Achievement Award - Herbie Montogmery

When Herbie took over Llandudno FC along with his late wife Molly in 1999, the club was about to dissolve, but they were determined to keep it going and as a family took over the running of the club voluntarily.

From there on in they have sought sponsorship and investment to have the infrastructure in place you see today, creating a real community hub for the town.

Herbie has given everything to the club and more and after suffering two heart attacks last year, he is still there every single day helping to maintain standards and watching the project he started 17 years ago blossom into the thriving community club that it is today.

Congratulations to all of our winners. We'll have news about the 2017 awards in due course.