McDonald's Community Football Awards 2016 - Regional Winners
McDonald’s Community Football
8 August 2016

McDonald's Community Football Awards 2016 - Regional Winners

Congratulations to all of our winners

For nine years the FAW, FAW Trust and McDonald’s have been running the Welsh Community Football Awards to recognise those who dedicate their time, effort and hard work into grassroots football throughout Wales.

This year’s programme has again seen hundreds of people in Wales nominating their grassroots heroes across a number of regions and categories.

We're happy to announce that this year’s Regional Winners are:

Club of the Year:

  • New Inn Juniors – Gwent FA

  • Canton Rangers FC – South Wales FA

  • Newtown FC – Central Wales FA

  • Pwllhelli FC – North Wales Coast FA

  • Corwen Youth FC – North East Wales FA

  • Ammanford Juniors FC – West Wales FA

  • School of the Year:

  • Chepstow School – Gwent FA

  • St Padarns – Central Wales FA

  • Ysgol Ffordd Dyffryn – North Wales Coast FA

  • Ysgol Estyn Primary – North East Wales FA

  • Cwmtawe Comprehensive – West Wales FA

  • Performance Coach of the Year:

  • David Lewis – Gwent FA

  • Jack Stuckey – South Wales FA

  • Craig Edwards – Central Wales FA

  • Sean Eardley – North Wales Coast FA

  • Sara Hilton – North East Wales FA

  • Grassroots Impact Award:

  • Abertillery Belles – Gwent FA

  • Game on Wales – South Wales FA

  • Kelly Midmore – Central Wales FA

  • Rebekah Hansen – North Wales Coast FA

  • Brickfield Rangers – North East Wales FA

  • Carmarthenshire Junior League 9v9s Project – West Wales FA

  • Community Coach of the Year:

  • Andy Barham – Gwent FA

  • Gavin Smith – South Wales FA

  • Anthony Thorney – Central Wales FA

  • Mike Smith – North Wales Coast FA

  • Gemma Jones – North East Wales FA

  • Matthew Lamb – West Wales FA

  • Young Volunteer of the Year:

  • Lloyd Griffin – Gwent FA

  • Ryan Davies – South Wales FA

  • Dewi Williams – Central Wales FA

  • Jamie Hawthorne – North Wales Coast FA

  • Kalvin Williams – North East Wales FA

  • Ben Leahy & Zac Davies – West Wales FA

  • Lifetime Achievement Award:

  • Allen Wood – Gwent FA

  • Phil Bumford – Central Wales FA

  • Herbie Montgomery – North Wales Coast FA

  • Maureen Jones – North East Wales FA

  • Julie Lowe – West Wales FA

  • Volunteer of the Year:

  • Simon Berry – Gwent FA

  • Chris Hooper – South Wales FA

  • Julie Christopher – Central Wales FA

  • Lisa Fleming – North Wales Coast FA

  • Kieran Howard – North East Wales FA

  • Trevor Morgans – West Wales FA

  • All regional winners besides the Volunteer of the Year category will now be put forward to our national panel which includes the likes of Wales National Team Manager Chris Coleman, Assistant Manager Osian Roberts and FAW Trust Head of Growth Jamie Clewer, who will decide national winners over the coming weeks.

    The Volunteer of the Year category will now become what’s known as the ‘People’s Award’. This gives the Welsh public a say in which grassroots football hero deserves to be crowned the national winner as this is decided by an online voting system.

    Voting for the award is now open until 4th September. The nominee who gets the most votes will be announced as the People’s Award winner at the National Awards Ceremony on Sunday 9th October at the Cardiff City Stadium alongside all other National Award Winners.

    To read more about the nominees, and vote for your Peoples Award winner please go to