Ian Rush and Ryan Giggs celebrate grassroots football at McDonald's awards ceremony
McDonald’s Community Football
5 January 2018

Ian Rush and Ryan Giggs celebrate grassroots football at McDonald's awards ceremony

Some of Welsh football's biggest names celebrated grassroots football at the 2017 McDonald's Welsh Community Football Awards ceremony.

Ryan Giggs and Ian Rush were at the Cardiff City Stadium some of the biggest awards to the people who make Welsh football tick.

FAW Trust CEO Neil Ward passed on his congratulations to all the winners and praised the Welsh legends for attending.

He said: “I'm delighted these grassroots heroes have had their achievements acknowledged. They're the people who make grassroots football tick.

"It's fantastic to have legends like Ian Rush and Ryan Giggs supporting us. They acknowledge that they started their careers in the grassroots game.

"They emphasised how important it is that we get the grassroots game in good shape to support the future production of players."

Brickfield Rangers were named Welsh Community Club of the year for the third time in 15 years.

Club CEO Paul Hooson said: “Each time it just gets more exciting.

“We’ve expanded massively and this award helps us promote who we are. People look and think we must be doing everything right. Hopefully we are.”

Rhosddu United coach Ashley Edwards was awarded the People’s Volunteer of the Year Award, earning nearly 4,000 of the record 7,300 nationwide votes cast and was handed is award by Manchester United and Wales legend Ryan Giggs.

He said: “I thank everyone for their votes. I’m overwhelmed.

“Seeing the smiles on the kids’ faces is what I get out of bed for on a Saturday morning.”

Porthmadog FC celebrated winning the inaugural McDonald’s Fun Football Provider of the Year award in their first year of taking part in the programme.

Coach Gethin Jones said: “It means everything to win this award because so much hard work has gone on behind the scenes.”

The ceremony was hosted by Capital FM radio DJ Polly James and was attended by football stars Giggs, Rush, Helen Ward, Jermaine Easter and Andy Legg, who all acknowledged the impact of the grassroots game on their careers.

Capital FM presenter Polly James
Capital FM presenter Polly James

They handed awards to Llandrindod Wells FC’s Julie Christopher, who was named Mum of the Year, and Angela Nichols, of Tenby AFC, who was given a Lifetime Achievement Award.

Paul Inns, of Berriew FC, won the Grassroots Impact Award, Drefach FC’s Jason Thomas was named Community Coach of the Year, while Treharris Athletic’s Owain Lock won Young Volunteer of the Year.


People’s Award – Volunteer of the Year: Ashley Edwards, Rhosddu United

Young Volunteer of the Year: Owain Locke, Treharris Athletic

Community Club of the Year: Brickfield Rangers

Community Coach of the Year: Jason Thomas, Drefach FC

Mum of the Year: Julie Christopher, Llandrindod Wells FC

Lifetime Achievement Award: Angela Nichols, Tenby AFC

Grassroots Impact Award: Paul Inns, Berriew FC

Fun Football Provider of the Year: Porthmadog FC

Performance Development Coach of the Year: Andy Jones

Football Restaurant of the Year: McDonald’s Abergavenny