16 October 2014


Player of the Year (Girl) Ward

On Monday 13th October, Lauryn Lyons, from Flintshire, joined football legends including Craig Bellamy and Ryan Giggs at The Football Association of Wales (FAW) Community Awards, presented by McDonald’s, after being named winner of the Player of the Year (Girl) award at the annual grassroots football awards.

The FAW Community Awards, presented by McDonald’s, aim to recognise and celebrate those volunteers, clubs and leagues, across Wales, who dedicate their time to grassroots football in their local community.

Lauryn collected her award at Cardiff City Stadium ahead of the Wales vs Cyprus UEFA Euro 2016 qualifying match, at a national ceremony where she got to meet McDonald’s Head of Welsh Football, Ryan Giggs.<1r>

For the past three years Lauryn has been a key part of the Girls Regional football environment and has racked up numerous caps for the Wales U15s Girls including captaining the team in the prestigious Bob Doherty Tournament.

Her dedication to the game has been rewarded with regular invites to the North East Wales Girls Performance Centre. Not only is she a talented player but Lauryn has been earmarked as a role model for younger players due to her attitude and conduct on and off the field.

McDonald’s Head of Welsh Football, Ryan Giggs said: “Lauryn’s award is a reflection of the hard work that goes into grassroots football up and down the country. It is important that we recognise the hard work and attainment of players like Lauryn. I would like to personally congratulate Lauryn on winning, it is fantastic that they have been recognised and it was a pleasure to meet them on the night.”

Local McDonald’s franchisee, Stewart Williams, said: “It is a privilege to congratulate Lauryn on this award. My restaurants in Flint support a number of local grassroots clubs and it’s fantastic that local players like Lauryn, who dedicate countless hours to grassroots football, are recognised as the future of Welsh international football.”

McDonald’s has been working with The FAW for 12 years to improve the standards of grassroots football. As part of McDonald’s ongoing commitment to improving the standards of grassroots football the partnership between The FAW and McDonald’s was recently renewed for another four years. The programme, which includes the annual Community Awards, focuses on raising the standards at accredited clubs from better safety, and better advice, to better kit and better recognition for volunteers.

As part of McDonald’s continued support for the grassroots game, 500 accredited clubs with a junior team will be given the opportunity to order a brand new adidas strip every year for the next four seasons. This means there is potential for over 7,000 strips to be distributed to clubs across Wales in the first year.

To find out more about McDonald’s renewed partnership with The FAW and the 2014 Welsh Community Football Award winners visit www.mcdonalds.co.uk/betterplay and follow @2014Grassroots.

The 2014 FAW Football Award national winners were:
 Club of the Year – Merthyr Town FC, Merthyr Tydfil
 Performance Development Coach of the Year - Jay Catton, GAP Connah’s Quay Academy
 Lifetime Achievement Award – Paul Hooson, Brickfield Rangers FC
 School of the Year – Ysgol Tudno, Llandudno
 Player of the Year (girl) - Lauryn Lyons, Flintshire
 Player of the Year (boy) – Liam Cullen, Pembrokeshire
 Grassroots Impact Award – Cefn Druids FC, Wrexham
 Community Coach of the Year - Carys Davis, Newcastle Emlyn Ladies FC
 Young Volunteer of the Year – Ellis Morgan, Islwyn JFL
 Volunteer of the Year (People’s Award) – Andy Jones, Ton and Gelli Boys and Girls FC