16 October 2014


Development Coach of the Year Award

On Monday 13th October, Jay Catton, from Connah’s Quay Academy, joined football legends including Craig Bellamy and Ryan Giggs at the Football Association of Wales (FAW) Community Awards, presented by McDonald’s, after being named winner of the Development Coach of the Year category in the annual grassroots football awards.

The FAW Community Awards, presented by McDonald’s, aim to recognise and celebrate those volunteers, clubs and leagues, across Wales, who dedicate their time to grassroots football in their local community.

Jay collected his award at Cardiff City Stadium ahead of the Wales vs Cyprus UEFA Euro 2016 qualifying match, at a national ceremony where he got to meet McDonald’s Head of Welsh Football, Ryan Giggs.<1r>

Jay has worked tirelessly within the GAP Connah's Quay Academy for the last five years, taking the football club to levels it never thought was possible. His dedication to the club is second to none working with over 150 players across 12 teams from age under 6 upwards. Not only does Jay have a track record of improving and developing young football talent, but also the Welsh Football Trust utilised his knowledge and expertise to help support the recent Cymru Cup events in South Wales. The players of GAP Connah's Quay may have had some excellent triumphs on the pitch recently, but it is the positive attitude and philosophy that Jay has instilled in his sides that makes them stand out. Jay is a true student of the game and real example to other coaches.

McDonald’s Head of Welsh Football, Ryan Giggs said: “Jay’s award is a reflection of the hard work that goes into grassroots football which runs up and down the country. It is thanks to volunteers like Jay that our young footballers can enjoy grassroots football in a safe and fun environment. It’s important that we recognise the extraordinary efforts of the volunteers and clubs across Wales because without their dedication, time and effort the game as we know it wouldn’t exist. I would like to personally congratulate Jay on winning, it is fantastic that they have been recognised and it was a pleasure to meet them on the night.”

Local McDonald’s franchisee, Stewart Williams, said: “It is a privilege to congratulate Jay on this award. My restaurants in around Deeside and Wrexham support a number of local grassroots clubs and it’s fantastic that local volunteers like Jay, who dedicate countless hours to grassroots football, provide constant opportunity for our local community to enjoy the game. Without them football across Connah’s Quay would cease to exist so it is vital that we celebrate and recognise them.”

McDonald’s has been working with the FAW for 12 years to improve the standards of grassroots football. As part of McDonald’s ongoing commitment to improving the standards of grassroots football the partnership between The FAW and McDonald’s was recently renewed for another four years. The programme, which includes the annual Community Awards, focuses on raising the standards at accredited clubs from better safety, and better advice, to better kit and better recognition for volunteers.

As part of McDonald’s continued support for the grassroots game, 500 accredited clubs with a junior team will be given the opportunity to order a brand new adidas strip every year for the next four seasons. This means there is potential for over 7,000 strips to be distributed to clubs across Wales in the first year.

To find out more about McDonald’s renewed partnership with The FAW and the 2014 Welsh Community Football Award winners visit and follow @2014Grassroots.

The 2014 FAW Football Award national winners were:
 Club of the Year – Merthyr Town FC, Merthyr Tydfil
 Performance Development Coach of the Year - Jay Catton, GAP Connah’s Quay Academy
 Lifetime Achievement Award – Paul Hooson, Brickfield Rangers FC
 School of the Year – Ysgol Tudno, Llandudno
 Player of the Year (girl) - Lauryn Lyons, Flintshire
 Player of the Year (boy) – Liam Cullen, Pembrokeshire
 Grassroots Impact Award – Cefn Druids FC, Wrexham
 Community Coach of the Year - Carys Davis, Newcastle Emlyn Ladies FC
 Young Volunteer of the Year – Ellis Morgan, Islwyn JFL
 Volunteer of the Year (People’s Award) – Andy Jones, Ton and Gelli Boys and Girls FC